30th October 2017


New Level 6 Teacher Apprenticeship Standard Launched

The government has approved a new level 6 teacher apprenticeship standard for delivery – a new and exciting route into teaching.

Details of the new Level 6 Teacher Apprenticeship Standard

The teacher apprenticeship standard will be available only to graduates who are teaching in a variety of settings such as academy schools and maintained schools with students aged 4 – 19 years old.

We’ve been involved in creating this standard with some of the schools we work with, including:

• EMLC Academy Trust
• The Dales School
• Lampard School
• Middlesbrough Catholic School Partnership

The standard will take one year to complete, starting every September – apprentices will achieve qualified teacher status (QTS) during the third term and their end-point assessment will be completed within the first term of their NQT (newly qualified teacher) year. It sits in funding band 9, with a maximum cap of £9,000 per apprentice.

It aims to provide skills and competencies for teaching, such as:

• Planning and teaching of well-structured lessons
• Adapting teaching for strengths and needs of all pupils
• Managing behaviour
• Promoting good progression and outcomes by pupils
• Demonstrating good subject and curriculum knowledge

Getting started

If you’re interested in using your Levy funds on a level 6 teacher apprenticeship, or aren’t sure where to start - don’t hesitate to get in touch today. You can find us on Twitter, LinkedIn or contact us for a one-on-one chat the old fashioned way: 

Talk to our team